WVJMP Distinguished Shooters

Becoming a Distinguished Shooter is an honor.  Distinguished Badges are the highest individual  awards authorized by the U. S. Government for excellence in marksmanship competition. They are awarded by the CMP in accordance with 36 USC §40722 [3] and by the respective services in accordance with service regulations. The CMP and  the military commands responsible for the awarding of Distinguished Badges coordinate their respective
badge regulations and the establishment of a master file of Distinguished Badge winners.


The WVJMP is privileged to have 3 Distinguished Shooters.  Richard Whiting quest for the Distinguished Rifleman’s Badge began in 1973 at Camp Perry during the Nationals, and ended in 1976 at Camp Perry again during the Nationals.  Robert McClain earned his first points in 2013 at Camp Perry during the Small Arms Firing School and ended in 2015 at the Camp Perry Nationals.  Marsha Beasley coached 16 seasons with the highly successful West Virginia University Rifle Team, winners of the NCAA Rifle Championship eight times during her tenure. She became Distinguished in 1983.

WVJMP Members and Date Each Began Earning Points           Toward Becoming a Distinguished Shooter

     Sam Sheppard began 2013           Drew Woodford began 2013             Josh Roberts began 2015

         Rylee Hitt  began 2016                Aaron Flowers began 2016              Nathanial Flohr began 2016

      Karee Hutson began 2018              Brooklyn Flint began 2019

Mailing Address:

West Virginia Junior Marksmanship Program

  • 127 Carol Street
  • Buckhannon, WV  26201
  • Range is located off Teter Crossing Road. 


Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© West Virginia Junior Marksmanship Program